What are the 3 main goals of the Department of Homeland Security?

What are the 3 main goals of the Department of Homeland Security?

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and its homeland security mission are born from the commitment and resolve of Americans across the United States in the wake of the September 11th attacks. In those darkest hours, we witnessed true heroism, self-sacrifice, and unified resolve against evil. We rallied together for our common defense, and we pledged to stand united against the threats attacking our great Nation, fellow Americans, and way of life.

Together, we are committed to relentless resilience, striving to prevent future attacks against the United States and our allies, responding decisively to natural and man-made disasters, and advancing American prosperity and economic security long into the future.

In the many years since the September 11th attacks, the Department has marshaled this collective vision to face new and emerging threats against the Homeland. To do so, we are instilling a “culture of relentless resilience” across the United States to harden security for the threats on the horizon, withstand attacks, and rapidly recover. We are raising security baselines across the world, addressing systemic risks, and building redundancies for critical lifelines that enable our prosperity and way of life. Perhaps most importantly, we are forging partnerships to strengthen public, private, and international cooperation and crowd-sourcing solutions that outpace the intentions of our adversaries.

As the complex threat environment continues to evolve and loom, the Department will embody the relentless resilience of the American people to ensure a safe, secure, and prosperous Homeland.

In addition to our underlying core values and guiding principles, there are six overarching homeland security missions that make up our strategic plan:

What are the goals of Homeland Security?

The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the hard work of more than 240,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector.

What are the three major responsibilities of the Department of Homeland Security?

A lock ( A locked padlock ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the . gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..
Helping When Disaster Strikes. ... .
Protecting Our Economy. ... .
Protecting U.S. Borders. ... .
Securing Cyberspace and Critical Infrastructure..

What are the 5 responsibilities of the Department of Homeland Security?

Under the Secretary's leadership, DHS is responsible for counterterrorism, cybersecurity, aviation security, border security, port security, maritime security, administration and enforcement of our immigration laws, protection of our national leaders, protection of critical infrastructure, cybersecurity, detection of ...

What is the Department of Homeland Security and what is its main function?

The Department of Homeland Security works to improve the security of the United States. The Department's work includes customs, border, and immigration enforcement, emergency response to natural and manmade disasters, antiterrorism work, and cybersecurity.