Is there a destiny lore book?

With the Destiny Lore app, you can read the Destiny 1 Grimoire Cards and the Destiny 2 lore books from the video-game franchise Destiny (2014) developed by Bungie.

You can log in with your PlayStation or Xbox account linked with to view your total Grimoire Score. By default, cards you haven’t unlocked will be hidden, but can be made visible with a toggle button. (Requires Internet Connection)

Internet connection not required to view any particular lore.

Between all the discussions of whether Bungie’s Destiny 2 can reclaim the glory of the original or how the game developer is trying to course correct with its upcoming Forsaken expansion, it’s easy to forget that the Halo creator’s sci-fi series has some excellent world-building.

Now, I’m not talking about Bungie’s silly penchant for generic proper nouns like The Guardians and The Darkness. I mean the subtle, background information hidden away for players to unearth and talk about online — like the Rasputin protocols that dictate how the exceedingly fascinating superintelligent AI designed its own subroutines to protect humanity, or the reality-altering “paracasual” powers of the Vex race that let it rewrite time.

There’s a lot of really cool stuff in the universe of Destiny — beyond the superpowers and aliens, it’s surprisingly one of the most forward-looking and novel sci-fi worlds out there — and it was all originally hidden away in an online compendium known as the Grimoire. (Destiny 2 did a better job of surfacing its world in missions and cutscenes.)

Now, Bungie is prepping to bring that world, including, it seems, lore from the first game and its current sequel, into physical form with an anthology book series. Here’s how the game developer describes it:

Until now, the myths, mysteries, and machinations of the Destiny universe were found hidden throughout the worlds – enticing threads that hinted at a greater tapestry. The Destiny Grimoire Anthology weaves tales from multiple sources together for the first time, casting new light on Destiny’s most legendary heroes, infamous villains, and their greatest moments of triumph and tragedy.

The first installment in the series is called Dark Mirror, and it collects 128 pages of Destiny lore in a hardcover volume with new illustrations.

Is there a destiny lore book?

Image: Bungie

Bungie says the “complete anthology will confirm and challenge players’ thoughts and assumptions on what it means to be a Guardian, offering new and differing perspectives on the cosmic war that rages between the Traveler and its ancient enemies.”

We don’t know how many volumes there will be, but this first one looks like a must-buy for Destiny lore lovers. It costs $25 and preorders are open now, with a ship date of fall 2018, presumably alongside the Forsaken expansion’s launch in September, or perhaps slightly after.

Join the conversation

Most Popular

  1. CES 2023: all the news from the year’s biggest tech conference

  2. Henrik Fisker wants to sell you an EV you can actually afford

  3. MacBook owners have two months to claim up to $395 over butterfly keyboard woes

  4. Qi2: How Apple might finally harness MagSafe by giving it away

  5. The vibes are off at Tesla

Verge Deals

/ Sign up for Verge Deals to get deals on products we've tested sent to your inbox daily.

Email (required)Sign up

By submitting your email, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Notice. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Bungie is counting down to Gjallarhorn coming to Destiny 2 by offering a new gift or discount every day from November 23 to December 7 in the Bungie Store.

Here's all the free stuff you can snag so far: A free ebook titled Destiny Grimoire Anthology, Volume IV: The Royal Will, a print-at-home coloring page featuring Gjallarhorn, and a print-at-home papercraft Gjallarhorn.

The Kindle version of the Destiny Grimoire Anthology, Volume IV: The Royal Will currently retails for $17.99 at Amazon, whereas if you download it from the Bungie Store, it's completely free. If you're interested in a physical copy, the Destiny Grimoire Anthology, Volume IV: The Royal Will hardcover edition sells for $22 on Amazon.

Destiny Grimoire Anthology, Volume IV: The Royal Will Hardcover

Is there a destiny lore book?

See at Amazon

The fourth installment of Destiny lore books dives into the stories of two powerful rulers, Mara Sov, the Queen of the Awoken and Oryx, the Taken King. The book goes into detail about Sov and Oryx's rise to power, their clash during the Taken King arc, as well as more about who the Awoken are. Sov makes a reappearance in Destiny 2's latest update, Season of the Lost.

Gjallarhorn will arrive in Bungie's 30th anniversary pack. The $25 DLC will also include a new Destiny 1 loot cave-themed dungeon and other Destiny 1 weapons. The Bungie 30th Anniversary pack will launch on December 7.

Destiny 2 News And Guides

  • Destiny 2 King's Fall Raid Guide: How To Beat Every Encounter And Open Every Secret Chest
  • Five Years Of Destiny 2's Dramatic, Transformational Changes
  • Destiny 2: Season Of Plunder Guides, Season Pass Gear, Exotics
  • + Show More Destiny 2 News And Guides Links (2)
  • Destiny 2 Season Of Plunder: Seasonal Challenges Guide Week 10
  • How To Get Map Fragments, Treasure Coordinates, And Maps In Destiny 2: Season Of Plunder

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

How many lore books are there in destiny?

Here's where to find the Shattered Suns lore books and how to unlock all ten to get the Imperious Sun Ghost Shell. The ten Shattered Suns lore books can be unlocked in Vow of the Disciple or in the extra mission which was unlocked after the World's First raid clear, Preservation.

What is in destiny lore books?

The Awoken of the Reef. The Awoken's return to Sol, where Queen Mara Sov's plans and the Awoken's history up to and after the Battle of Saturn are documented. ... .
The Dreaming City. ... .
A Drifter's Gambit. ... .
Eva's Journey. ... .
The Forsaken Prince. ... .
Ghost Stories. ... .
The Lawless Frontier. ... .
The Man They Call Cayde..

What order should I read destiny lore?

Season of Dawn.
Ancient Past..
Pre-Golden Age..
Golden Age..
The Collapse..
The Dark Age..
The City Age..
The Dark Below..

Where do I find destiny lore?

Lore entries are unlocked via finding collectibles throughout the game or completing certain tasks. Also contained within this page are the Books of Sorrow and The Maraid which were released in Destiny as Grimoire entries.